

# City of Culver City

Mike Balkman Council Chambers 9770 Culver Blvd. Culver City, CA 90232 (310) 253-5851

### **Staff Report**

File #: 22-71, Version: 1 Item #: A-1.

### Administration of the Oath of Office to Newly Appointed Committee Member

Meeting Date: July 14, 2021

**Contact Person/Dept:** Michelle Villongco/Finance Department

**Phone Number:** (310) 253-5865

Fiscal Impact: Yes [] No [X] General Fund: Yes [] No []

Public Hearing: [] Action Item: [X] Attachments: []

**Public Notification:** (E-Mail) Meetings and Agendas - Finance Advisory Committee (07/9/2021)

**Department Approval:** Onyx Jones, Chief Financial Officer (07/09/2021)

\_\_\_\_\_

#### RECOMMENDATION

Staff recommends the FAC observe the administration of the oath of office to newly appointed committee member.

#### BACKGROUND/DISCUSSION

At the June 14, 2021 City Council Meeting, the City Council made the following appointments to the Finance Advisory Committee:

Anne Diga Jacobsen - Resident Member Seat No. 2 for a term ending June 30, 2024

City Charter Section 1401 provides: "Before entering upon the duties of their respective offices, all officers and employees of the City shall take and subscribe to the following oath or affirmation:

"I, [Member Name], do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States and the Constitution of the State of California against all enemies, foreign and domestic; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the Constitution of the United States and the Constitution of the State of California; that I take this obligation freely, without any mental reservation or purpose of evasion; and that I will well and faithfully discharge the duties upon which I am about to enter."

File #: 22-71, Version: 1	Item #: A-1.
---------------------------	--------------

### **FISCAL ANALYSIS**

There is no fiscal impact associated with the discussion of this Agenda Item.

### **ATTACHMENTS**

None.

## **MOTION**

That the FAC:

1. Observe the administration of the oath of office to newly appointed Committee Member Diga Jacobsen.