

Staff Report

File #: 19-316, Version: 1

Item #: A

Administration of the Oath of Office to Appointed and Reappointed Committee Members

Meeting Date:	September 20, 2018
Contact Person/Dept:	Sanjana Mada/Public Works Administration
Phone Number:	(310) 253-5616
Fiscal Impact: Yes [] N	o [X] General Fund: Yes [] No [X]
Public Hearing: []	Action Item: [X] Attachments: []
Public Notification: (E-Mail) Meetings and Agendas - Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee (07/19/18)	
Department Approval:	Charles D. Herbertson, Public Works Director/City Engineer

RECOMMENDATION

Staff recommends the Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee (BPAC) observe the administration of the oath of office to newly appointed and reappointed committee member.

BACKGROUND/DISCUSSION

At the June 25, 2018 City Council Meeting, the City Council made the following appointments to the Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee:

• The City Council appointed Anne Diga Jacobsen to fill Resident Seat No. 2 of the Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee for a term ending June 30, 2019.

City Charter Section 1401 provides: "Before entering upon the duties of their respective offices, all officers and employees of the City shall take and subscribe to the following oath or affirmation:

"I, [Member Name], do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States and the Constitution of the State of California against all enemies, foreign and domestic; that I will bear true faith and allegiance to the Constitution of the United States and the Constitution of the State of California; that I take this obligation

File #: 19-316, Version: 1

freely, without any mental reservation or purpose of evasion; and that I will well and faithfully discharge the duties upon which I am about to enter."

FISCAL ANALYSIS

There is no fiscal impact associated with the discussion of this Agenda Item.

ATTACHMENTS

BPAC Oath of Office - 2018.pdf

MOTION

That the Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Committee:

1. <u>Observe the administration of the oath of office to newly appointed Committee Member Anne</u> <u>Diga Jacobsen.</u>